The Joy of Les Miserables

Les Miserables – Queen’s Theare, London

I won’t be writing a full review of Les Miserables.

Simply, because I honestly don’t think there are enough words to describe how incredible the experience was.

After seeing her as Elphaba in Wicked over a year ago I was excited to hear of Alexia Khadime playing Eponine, and she definitely didn’t disappoint.
Hadley Fraser as Javert was also brilliant, with a voice of maturity well beyond his years.
In addition was Matt Lucas, who received an applause before he’d uttered a word. He, along with Katy Secombe were the perfect pairing to bring humour and energy to the production and it was a delight to see him in one of his last performances.

However, the evening for me, and I’m sure for many others, was simply magical due to seeing the amazing Alfie Boe in the lead role of Jean Valjean.
His rendition of ‘Bring Him Home’ was truly breathtaking and literally tear jerking.

I honestly can’t think why I have never seen it before, it is a beautifully told, heartbreaking story which I cannot recommend highly enough.

Leave a Reply

